Universities of the network “Four Motors for Europe” sign statement on cooperation

April 10, 2019, Nr. 31

University representatives from Grenoble, Bergamo and Barcelona are guests of the University of Stuttgart

On 10 April 2019, rectors and top representatives of the Université Grenoble Alpes, the Università Degli Studi Di Bergamo, the Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya Bercelonatech and the University of Stuttgart signed a memorandum of understanding in the senate hall of the university to increase scientific cooperation. The idea to sign the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between the partner universities from the cooperating “Four Motors” regions of Lombardy (Italy), Catalonia (Spain), Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes and Baden-Wuerttemberg was initiated by the University of Stuttgart. In the course of its internationalization strategy, the University of Stuttgart also aims to strengthen its commitment within the European framework. The Ministry of Science and Arts Baden Wuerttemberg (MWK) expressly welcomes this initiative and, already on 10 April, held a meeting with a “Four Motors” working group on the premises of the university.

Prof. Wolfram Ressel, Rector of the University of Stuttgart, was pleased to confirm and strengthen the cooperation between the four universities and said at the signing of the memorandum: “Today is a good day for the regions that are part of the 'Four Motors' network. Through the scientific alliance of our universities, we not only strengthen cross-border exchange in research and teaching, but also combine the scientific, economic and social interests of our prosperous regions.“

The cooperation, which for the moment is based on a five-year time frame, is set for the long term and aims at the exchange of professors, researchers and students in the different academic disciplines.

Four Motors for Europe

The network “Four Motors for Europe“ was established on 9 September 1988. Here, economically and scientifically powerful regions are pooling their interests. Also, the regional network sees cooperation as a contribution to the further development of the European Union. On 11 April 2019, the chairmanship of the “Four Motors” was handed over from Baden-Wuerttemberg to Lombardy — an immediate opportunity for the universities to sign the MoU.




Keplerstraße 7, 70174 Stuttgart

To the top of the page