Academic calendar

When do classes start, when does the semester end? Dates matter, also when studying at the University of Stuttgart.

On this page we list all important dates and deadlines during the fall and spring semesters.
For more detailed information on the application deadlines please see the application deadlines web page.
The extact enrollment dates will be announced with the admission note. General deadlines can be found on the enrollment web page.

The lecture period of summer semester 2022

Semester starts
April 01, 2022
Classes start
Monday, April 11, 2022
As a first-semester student, please keep in mind the introductory events at the beginning of the semester.
Classes end
Saturday, July 23, 2022
Semester break / holidays
  • Easter break: Friday, April 15, 2022 to Monday, April 18, 2022
  • (Labor Day: Sunday, May 01, 2022)
  • Ascencion Day: Thursday, May 26, 2022
  • Whit Monday: Monday, June 06, 2022
  • Whitsun holidays (Pfingstferien): Tuesday, June 07, 2022 to Saturday, June 11, 2022
  • Corpus Christi: Thursday, June 16, 2022
Semester ends
September 30, 2022

The lecture period of winter semester 2022/23

Semester starts
October 01, 2022
Classes start
For first-semester students (Bachelor’s and Master’s): Monday, October 10, 2022
The introductory week for first-semester students will take place from October 10 to October 14, 2022. Information can be found on the “Getting started with your studies” website and on the webpage of the student council stuvus.
Regular start of classes and start for students in their 2nd semester and higher: Monday, October 17, 2022
Classes end
Saturday, February 11, 2023
Semester break / holidays
  • All Saints' Day: Tuesday, November 01, 2022
  • Year end semester break 2022/23: Friday, December 23, 2022 to Saturday, January 07, 2023 (inclusive of both dates)
Semester ends
March 31, 2023

The lecture period of summer semester 2023

Semester starts
April 01, 2023
Classes start
Tuesday, April 11, 2023
As a first-semester student, please keep in mind the introductory events at the start of your studies.
Classes end
Saturday, July 22, 2023
Semester break / holidays
  • Easter break: Friday, April 07, 2023 to Monday, April 10, 2023
  • Labor Day: Monday, May 01, 2023
  • Ascencion Day: Thursday, May 18, 2023
  • Whit Monday: Monday, May 29, 2023
  • Whitsun holidays (Pfingstferien): Tuesday, May 30, 2023 to Saturday, June 03, 2023
  • Corpus Christi: Thursday, June 08, 2023
Semester ends
September 30, 2023

General semester dates

Re-registration
  • Re-registration period for the following summer semester: January 15 - February 15
  • Re-registration period for the following winter semester: July 15 - August  15
Leave of absence

An application for a leave of absence is normally due during the re-registration period. See the Leave of Absence page for more on this.

De-registration
  • As of the end of the winter semester: until March 15
  • As of the end of the summer semester: until September 15

Examination dates

Registration period

SuSe 2022 WiSe 2022/23 SuSe 2023
May 11 to June 02, 2022 Nov. 16 to Dec. 08, 2022 May 16 to June 06, 2023

Exams centrally managed by the examination office

SuSe 2022 WiSe 2022/23 SuSe 2023
Aug. 08 to Oct. 01, 2022  Feb. 13 to Apr. 08, 2023 Aug. 07 to Sept. 30, 2023

Contact

 

Points of contact for any questions about studying

 

Application, Admission, Enrollment

  • Further information
  • Your points of contact for application, admission and enrollment on Bachelor's and Master's study programs.
To the top of the page