Prof. Wolfgang Osten

March 14, 2019

The Optical Society Names Wolfgang Osten the 2019 Emmett N. Leith Medal Recipient

The Optical Society (OSA) is pleased to name Wolfgang Osten, Universität Stuttgart, the 2019 Emmett N. Leith Medal recipient. Osten is recognized for extending the limits of optical metrology by integrating digital image processing with modern optical measurement techniques.
[Picture: Universität Stuttgart/Frank Eppler]

Osten’s research work is focused on new concepts for industrial inspection and metrology by combining modern principles of optical metrology, sensor technology and digital image processing. Special attention is directed to the development of digital optical technologies such as digital holography and resolution enhanced technologies for the investigation of micro- and nano-structures.

From September 2002 until October 2018, Osten was full professor at the Universität Stuttgart, and director of the Institute for Applied Optics. From 2006 to 2010, he was the vice rector for research and technology transfer of the Universität Stuttgart. From 2012 to 2018 he was member of the University Council, since 2016 its Deputy Chairman.

Osten is a Fellow of OSA, SPIE, EOS, SEM, and senior member of IEEE. He is Honorary Professor at Shenzhen University, China, Honorary Doctor of the University of Technology of Ilmenau, Germany, the 2011 recipient of the Dennis Gabor Award of SPIE, the 2018 recipient of the Rudolf Kingslake Medal of the SPIE, and the 2019 recipient of the Chandra Vikram Award of the SPIE.

Established in 2006, the Emmett N. Leith Medal recognizes seminal contributions to the field of optical information processing, including (but not limited to), sensing and analog signal processing as well as computing (classical and quantum) and optical storage. It honors Emmett N. Leith, a world-renowned scientist in holography and optical information processing, and is endowed by General Dynamics, the University of Michigan College of Engineering, U.S.A., Physical Optics Corporation and individual contributors, including Alexander Sawchuk, Joseph Goodman, James R. Fienup, G. Michael Morris, Tom Cathey and James Wyant.

About The Optical Society
Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading professional organization for scientists, engineers, students and entrepreneurs who fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Through world-renowned publications, meetings and membership initiatives, OSA provides quality research, inspired interactions and dedicated resources for its extensive global network of optics and photonics experts.

To the top of the page