November 20, 2019, Nr. 100

Teaching Prize for Holger Cartarius and Ewald Krämer

Awards for outstanding teaching and Students Council special prize given out at Academic

For the fifth time, the University of Stuttgart has awarded the Teaching Prize at the Academic Anniversary. The award, which the University first presented in 2015, emphasizes the strategic importance of excellent teaching. This year the prize has been awarded to two people: Holger Cartarius of the Institute of Theoretical Physics V and Ewald Krämer, Head of the Institute of Aerodynamics and Gas Dynamics. Additionally, the Students Council stuvus awarded a special prize for extraordinary commitment to teaching to Carlos Camino, Markus Friedrich, Dominik Göddeke, Sabine Holtz and Peter Pott.

University of Stuttgart’s Teaching Prize for Holger Cartarius

In giving this award, the University of Stuttgart primarily honors Cartarius’s ability to transparently convey extremely abstract material to students with different levels of knowledge, as well as the “Literary Seminar on Contemporary Physics” held by him outside of core hours, in which he supports students by answering whatever questions they may have together.

Laureate Holger Cartarius and Rector Wolfram Ressel (right)

Holger Cartarius studied Physics at the University of Stuttgart and gained his doctorate from the Institute of Theoretical Physics I. After a period of time as a postdoc at the Weizmann Institute of Science in Rehovot, Israel, he returned to Stuttgart, where he qualified as a lecturer in theoretical physics in 2014 and then researched and taught as a Privatdozent. Among other things, his strong interest in teaching led him towards the methodology of teaching physics. He played an active role in creating the “Physics Didactics” department at the Institute of Theoretical Physics V at the University of Stuttgart.

There he worked on courses in modern physics, as well as the mathematics course for students studying to be physics teachers. Since September 2019 he has been Professor of Physics Didactics at the Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena.

University of Stuttgart’s Teaching Prize for Ewald Krämer

In giving this award, the University of Stuttgart honors Krämer’s dedication in supervising countless students with their semester projects, his professional use of technical equipment in his courses, as well as the way he animates his students through the use of presentations and discussions in particular.

Laureate Ewald Krämer and Rector Wolfram Ressel (right)

Ewald Krämer studied Aerospace Engineering at the Bundeswehr University in Munich (UniBwM) between 1978 and 1982. After three years as an engineer officer in an aircraft maintenance squadron, he returned to the UniBwM in 1985, where he completed a doctorate in the digital simulation of airflow around a helicopter rotor. In 1991 he completed his doctoral degree studies with honors, having previously begun work at Deutsche Aerospace (DASA) as a development engineer. There he was involved in the national hypersonic program and the development of the Eurofighter among other things, and later on held the position as Head of the Flight Physics division. In 2004 he moved to the University of Stuttgart, where he has been Head of the Institute of Aerodynamics and Gas Dynamics ever since and has also taught Fluid Dynamics. As the Dean of Undergraduate and Graduate Studies from 2006 to 2016, he was responsible for implementing the Bologna Process.

The University of Stuttgart’s annual Teaching Prize was first awarded in 2015, and the winner is also given 10,000 euros to be spent on improving their teaching.

Stuvus Special Prize

In 2019, stuvus, the Students Council of the University of Stuttgart, is awarding the stuvus Special Prize for the first time for exceptional commitment in teaching. The prize, which comes with a sum of 2500 euros to be used for the purposes of improving teaching, was awarded to the following individuals and was also presented at the Academic Anniversary.

  • Carlos Camino, Institute of Formal Methods of Computer Science
  • Prof. Markus Friedrich, Institute of Road and Transportation Science
  • Prof. Dominik Göddeke, Institute of Applied Analysis and Numerical Simulation
  • Prof. Sabine Holtz, Institute of History
  • Prof. Peter Pott, Institute of Medical Device Technology
The Laureates of the "Stuvus Special Prize" for exceptional commitment in teaching.
To the top of the page