Success story for the future of mobility

STARTUP AUTOBAHN - Europe’s biggest innovation platform made in Stuttgart

STARTUP AUTOBAHN is a joint project of Daimler AG, the Startup Accelerator and Investors Plug and Play Tech Center, the ARENA2036 research campus, and the University of Stuttgart.
[Photo: STARTUP-AUTOBAHN]

STARTUP AUTOBAHN is a joint project of Daimler AG, the Startup Accelerator and Investors Plug and Play Tech Center, the ARENA2036 research campus, and the University of Stuttgart.

STARTUP AUTOBAHN is an innovation platform that provides an interface between leading industrial companies and young technology companies. At the heart of the six-month programs, business partners and start-ups work together on an equal footing in order to assess the potential collaboration between the parties, test their technology, and achieve the ultimate goal: a successful implementation ready for production. STARTUP AUTOBAHN is not a typical start-up accelerator, but provides an entire ecosystem for successful collaboration. This promotes a change in the cultural mindset and the exchange of best practices in a neutral environment, in order to advance digitalization across corporate structures and value chains. 

In May 2016, Daimler, Plug and Play Tech Center, and the University of Stuttgart founded STARTUP AUTOBAHN as an open innovation platform with a global reach. Since then, many other partners have joined together to implement innovations.

Saeed Amidi

Stuttgart is one of the world’s leading automotive and high-tech regions and therefore provides the ideal conditions for startups.

Saeed Amidi, CEO of Plug and Play Tech Center

In the past 14 years, Plug and Play has built the world’s largest innovation platform that brings together start-ups, companies, and investors. The main goal is to promote and catalyze technological progress and related innovations. Plug and Play is now active at 26 locations worldwide - including the United States, China, Germany, Singapore, and Mexico. With more than 2000 funded start-ups and more than 280 corporate partners, it is the ultimate start-up ecosystem in many industries. Their success stories include those of Dropbox, PayPal, SoundHound, and N26.

Since 2016, STARTUP AUTOBAHN powered by Plug and Play has worked with 220 start-ups on more than 320 pilot projects in the fields of mobility, production, and enterprise. To this day, more than 60 projects have been implemented with the corporate partners, making STARTUP AUTOBAHN the most successful innovation platform in Europe. 

An exciting success story is what3words. The company’s algorithm labels a 3 meter by 3 meter square area with a unique address - worldwide. As a result, every delivery entrance, parking space, and house is given a unique address and can be precisely located. Thanks to the successful cooperation within the framework of STARTUP AUTOBAHN, what3words was implemented, for the first time, in the infotainment system of the new Mercedes Benz A-Class in 2018.

Contact

This picture showsSascha Karimpour
 

Sascha Karimpour

VP Corporate Relations DACH, Plug and Play Germany

This picture showsHannah Boomgaarden
 

Hannah Boomgaarden

Senior Program Manager

To the top of the page

Erfolgsgeschichte für die Zukunft der Mobilität

STARTUP AUTOBAHN - Europas größte Innovationsplattform aus Stuttgart

STARTUP AUTOBAHN ist ein gemeinsames Projekt der Daimler AG, des Startup Accelerators und Investors Plug and Play Tech Center, des Forschungscampus ARENA2036 sowie der Universität Stuttgart.
[Foto: STARTUP-AUTOBAHN]

STARTUP AUTOBAHN ist ein gemeinsames Projekt der Daimler AG, des Startup Accelerators und Investors Plug and Play Tech Center, des Forschungscampus ARENA2036 sowie der Universität Stuttgart.

STARTUP AUTOBAHN ist eine Innovationsplattform, die eine Schnittstelle zwischen branchenführenden Unternehmen und jungen Technologieunternehmen bietet. Im Herzen der halbjährigen Programme arbeiten Unternehmenspartner mit Startups auf Augenhöhe zusammen, um die mögliche Zusammenarbeit beider Parteien zu bewerten, ihre Technologie zu testen und das ultimative Ziel – eine erfolgreiche produktionsreife Implementierung – zu erreichen. STARTUP AUTOBAHN ist kein typischer Startup Accelerator, sondern bietet ein gesamtes Ökosystem für erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit. Dies fördert den Wandel der kulturellen Denkweise und den Austausch bewährter Verfahren in einer neutralen Atmosphäre, um die Digitalisierung über Unternehmensstrukturen und Wertschöpfungsketten hinweg voranzutreiben. 

Im Mai 2016 gründeten Daimler, Plug and Play Tech Center, die Universität Stuttgart und die STARTUP AUTOBAHN als offene Innovationsplattform mit globaler Reichweite. Seitdem haben sich viele weitere Partner zusammengeschlossen, um Innovationen zu verwirklichen.

Saeed Amidi

Stuttgart ist eine der weltweit führenden Automobil- und High-Tech-Regionen und bietet daher die idealen Voraussetzungen für Startups.

Saeed Amidi, CEO von Plug and Play Tech Center

In den vergangenen 14 Jahren hat Plug and Play die weltweit größte Innovationsplattform aufgebaut, die Startups, Unternehmen und Investoren zusammenbringt. Das Kernziel ist es, den technologischen Fortschritt sowie die dazugehörigen Innovationen zu fördern und zu katalysieren. Plug and Play ist mittlerweile an 26 Standorten weltweit aktiv – darunter in den USA, China, Deutschland, Singapur und Mexiko. Mit mehr als 2000 geförderten Startups und mehr als 280 Unternehmenspartnern sind sie das ultimative Startup-Ökosystem in vielen Branchen. Einige ihrer Erfolgsgeschichten umfassen Dropbox, PayPal, SoundHound und N26.

Seit 2016 hat STARTUP AUTOBAHN powered by Plug and Play mit 220 Startups an mehr als 320 Pilotprojekten in den Bereichen Mobility, Production und Enterprise zusammengearbeitet. Bis zum heutigen Tag wurden mehr als 60 Projekte bei den Unternehmenspartnern implementiert, womit STARTUP AUTOBAHN als erfolgreichste Innovationsplattform in Europa gilt. 

Eine spannende Erfolgsgeschichte ist what3words. Ihr Algorithmus beschriftet ein 3 Meter mal 3 Meter großes Quadrat mit einer eindeutigen Adresse – und das weltweit. Dadurch bekommt jeder Liefereingang, Parkplatz und jedes Haus eine einmalige Adresse und kann dadurch exakt ausfindig gemacht werden. Durch die erfolgreiche Kooperation im Rahmen von STARTUP AUTOBAHN wurde what3words 2018 das erste Mal im Infotainment System der neuen A-Klasse von Mercedes-Benz implementiert.

Kontakt

Dieses Bild zeigt  Sascha Karimpour
 

Sascha Karimpour

VP Corporate Relations DACH, Plug and Play Germany

Dieses Bild zeigt  Hannah Boomgaarden
 

Hannah Boomgaarden

Senior Program Manager

Zum Seitenanfang