Informationen zu

zur Startseite

Department of International Relations and European Integration (SOWI III)

 

Profile


Our research is mainly focused on processes of socialization and collectivization beyond the nation state: In the era of globalization and Europeanization the transnational interdependence of social and political action is steadily increasing. Put differently: What happens in others parts of the world significantly affects our daily lives.

Is it possible for political actors – governments, trans- and international organizations or civil-societal groups – to establish effective and democratic institutions for the resolution of problems that reach beyond the nation state? Moreover, does this process lead to new forms of transnational communication, political organization and collective identity on the societal and individual level?

Embedded in a broad theoretical foundation, ranging from classical and modern theories of International Relations and sociological theory to the history of political thought, our interests include various fields of empirical research. In our projects we operate with innovative analytical (in particular computational textual analysis) as well as statistical methods. Right from the start our students are encouraged to become part of this adventure.

Informationen zu

zur Startseite

Abteilung für Internationale Beziehungen und Europäische Integration (SOWI III)

 

Profil


Im Zentrum unserer Lehre und Forschung stehen Vergesellschaftungs- und Vergemeinschaftungsprozesse jenseits des Nationalstaats: Unter den Vorzeichen von Globalisierung und Europäisierung nimmt die transnationale Interdependenz sozialen und politischen Handelns zu.

Was in anderen Ländern geschieht beeinflusst unser Leben immer öfter unmittelbar spürbar. Gelingt es den politischen Akteuren – Regierungen, internationale Organisationen und den organisierten gesellschaftlichen Kräften – effektive und demokratische politische Institutionen zur Lösung derjenigen Probleme zu finden, die sich nicht mehr im Rahmen des Nationalstaates lösen lassen? Entwickeln sich auch auf der gesellschaftlichen Ebene neue Formen der transnationalen Kommunikation, politischen Organisation und kollektiven Identität?

Wir arbeiten auf der Grundlage klassischer und neuerer Ansätze der Theorien der Internationalen Beziehungen, der soziologischen Theorie und der politischen Ideengeschichte auf verschiedenen Feldern der empirischen Forschung. In unseren Forschungsprojekten wenden wir innovative Methoden (z.B. der Medieninhaltsanalyse) und avancierte statistische Methoden an. Unsere Studierenden werden von Anfang an dazu ermuntert, mit uns an diesem Abenteuer teilzunehmen.