Bachelor of Arts (major subject, minor subject)

Specific information on the Bachelor of Arts with major and minor subject

Examination registration / Registration of the Bachelor’s Thesis
  • It is only possible to register for examinations during the registration period. The registration period and information on the registration will be announced on the homepage and via e-mail to the collegiate e-mail address. Belated registrations cannot be considered. It is not possible to take an examination that has not been registered in due time via the LSF.
  • Information for students still studying according to the old Examination Regulations (< 2008): please submit a written registration form to the Examination Office during the registration period.
  • If a second examination date / make-up exam is offered within a semester, a registration via the LSF is not possible (because the registration period is already over). In this case, please register for the examination at the Examination Office using the following Form.
  • There is no automatic registration for examinations. You have to register for all examinations including re-examinations in the next semester during the registration period via the LSF.
  • If you have any problems registering for an examination online please contact the Examination Office during the registration period, so that the problems can be solved in time.
2. Withdrawal from Examinations
  • You can withdraw from registered examinations within a withdrawal period of 7 days before the examination via the LSF, as long as the date of the examination is registered and it’s an examination from the categories „PL“, „USL“ or „BSL“. If the date of the examination is not registered, please fill in a declaration of withdrawal available under forms. In this case, the examiner has to confirm the examination date by signing the form.
  • If you miss the withdrawal period or in case of an obligatory re-examination, the withdrawal has to be approved by the Board of Examiners. The completed declaration of withdrawal has to be signed by the Board of Examiners and handed to the Examination Office.
  • In case of LBP‘s (course-accompanying examinations) the withdrawal has to be approved by the Board of Examiners. This is not necessary if you have submitted a declaration of withdrawal including a medical certificate to the Examination Office. Please consult your Examination Regulations to see which examinations are LBPs.
  • In case of illness, a medical certificate for the date of the examination has to be submitted. The medical certificate has to be submitted to the Examination Office together with a completed declaration of withdrawal 3 days after the examination at the latest.
  • The declaration of withdrawal should be completed by means of the Exams Extract in the LSF, where the correct examination name, examination number and examination date can be found. Please note that only duly completed declarations of withdrawal can be processed.
  • If the withdrawal from an examination was successful, this will be indicated in the Exams Extract:
    • „withdraw/t“ = withdrawal within the withdrawal period
    • „ill“ = excused due to illness
    • „withdraw/p“ = Board of Examiners permitted withdrawal
  • In case of a withdrawal due to illness or a withdrawal permitted by the Board of Examiners, the examination has to be repeated at the next possible date. Otherwise, it will be graded as „failed“ (administrative fail). This does not apply to withdrawals submitted in due time.
3. Obligatory re-examinations / Oral re-examinations
  • If an examination was failed, it has to be registered and taken at the earliest possible date. In up to 2 modules per degree program, a second re-examination is possible.
  • Examinations that are part of the Study Assessment Test can only be repeated once. li>
  • If the last possible re-examination of a written examination was failed, an oral re-examination takes place, which can only be graded as pass (= 4.0) / fail (= 5.0).
  • If an obligatory re-examination is not registered or taken, the missed examination is graded as failed. In case of a missed examination, a possible oral re-examination is cancelled.
4. Certifications available at the Examination Office
  • The administrative employee responsible for the degree program at the Examination Office can issue a Certificate of Graduation as soon as all credit points have been acquired. Even before the final grading of the Bachelor’s Thesis, the supervisor of the thesis can confirm that it will be graded at least with a 4.0 and has therefore been passed (per 4.0 Certification). 180 credit points can therefore be achieved even before the final grade of the Bachelor’s Thesis is known.
  • The Examination Office can also issue a certification stating that the right to take examinations in a certain degree program has not been lost, which can be submitted to other universities.
  • Other certifications can be issued upon request.
  • Please contact the BAföG representative of the respective institute (see Course Catalog) for certifications for the BAföG office.
5. Study Assessment Test
  • The Study Assessment Test has to be passed by the start of the 3rd semester, but no later than by the start of the 4th semester. Otherwise, the right to take examinations is lost.
  • An extension of the deadline for the Study Assessment Test can be requested at the Board of Examiners.
  • Please consult your Examination Regulations (Special Section, usually § 1 or § 2) for further information on which modules the Study Assessment Test is constituted of and whether foreign language competence has to be proven.
6. Bachelor’s Thesis
  • The topic of the Bachelor’s Thesis can be issued as soon as 80 credit points have been acquired. Students have to start working on their thesis or apply for the allocation of a topic within one month after 168 credit points have been acquired (counting from the last examination date, not the date the examiner enters the grade).
  • Please fill in the following form to register for the Bachelor’s Thesis.
  • On the registration form, the Examination Office also has to confirm that you fulfill all requirements for registering your thesis.
  • After the Examination Office has confirmed that you fulfill all requirements, please fill in the form with your examiner and submit it to the Examination Office. The examiner has to fill in the date the topic was allocated. The form has to be signed by the student and the examiner, the signature of the Examination Board is not necessary.
  • The completion period starts the day the topic is assigned and lasts 12 weeks.
  • Students majoring in Art History have to submit proof of the Latin qualifying examination or comparable knowledge of Latin.
  • Students majoring in Linguistics have to bear in mind that the registration of the Bachelor’s Thesis is only possible in connection with the registration of the final module (Complementary Module 3). A registration of the Bachelor’s Thesis is therefore only possible during the registration period. After the Bachelor’s Thesis has been registered at the Examination Office, the finale module has to be registered via the LSF.
7. Final Grade Report and Bachelor’s Certificate
  • After completing the Bachelor‘s program, every graduate receives a Degree Certificate and a Final Grade Report of the Bachelor Examination.
  • The Final Grade Report of the Bachelor Examination is requested at the Examination Office. When registering for the Bachelor’s Thesis, the Final Grade Report request form is handed out or can be can be obtained from the administrative staff.
  • The completion period for the Final Grade Report is about 4 to 6 weeks after the last achievement has been recorded.
  • Upon request, the Degree Certificate can be handed out before the award ceremony. However, it is not possible to take part in the ceremony without the original Degree Certificate. As long as the original Degree Certificates are kept at the Examination Office, certified copies can be issued upon request.
8. Transcript of Records

Via LSF, you can create transcripts of record in PDF format that don’t have to be certified by the Examination Office:

  1. In the start menu of the LSF portal:
    • Transcript of passed examination results only include the modules already completed, no partial achievements of modules not yet completed. This transcript is suitable for job applications, and not for university applications. (Screenshot)
  2. In the Exams Extract menu, two further certifications are available:
    • The Transcript of Records contains all achievements, partial achievements, withdrawals and failed attempts. This transcript is suitable for submission to the Examination Committee or for a BAföG certificate according to § 48. Moreover, it is suitable for applications to other institutions of higher education in case of a transfer to another university during studies. (Screenshot)
    • Certifications with current credit points and the current average grade contain the modules already completed that are part of the credit points listed and are suitable for all kinds applications as long as the studies have not yet been completed. (Screenshot)
9. Change of Examination Regulations
  • You can only change the Examination Regulations for a degree program you are currently registered in, as soon as new Examination Regulations are announced.
  • If modules that have not yet been completed change after the change of examination regulations, they have to be completed according to the old examination regulations. The modules will be altered in accordance with the new Examination Regulations as soon as all necessary achievements have been completed.
10. Recognition of Examinations
  • The Examination Committee is responsible for the recognition of examinations already completed.
  • You can find the form „Recognition of Examinations“ under further Forms.
  • A professor responsible for the examination subject to be recognized certifies the equivalence of the achievement and suggests a grade if necessary.
  • If the Examination Committee agrees with the suggestion, the achievement will be recognized and recorded by the Examination Office.
  • If necessary, failed attempts can be recognized as well.
  • • The recognized achievements are indicated in the Final Grade Report of the Bachelor Examination.
11. Interdisciplinary Key Qualifications
  • The Center for Continuing Education is responsible for the registration and recording of interdisciplinary key qualifications.
  • In exceptional cases, if an achievement is not recorded by the Center for Continuing Education, the key qualification can be recorded by the Examination Office by means of a certificate of academic achievement.
12. Collegiate e-mail address
  • At the beginning of the studies, every student of the University of Stuttgart receives a collegiate e-mail address.
  • All important information will be sent to this e-mail address by the University administration. Within the University administration, only this e-mail address will be passed on.
13. Links

Bachelor of Arts 2-Fach

Fachspezifische Informationen für Bachelor of Arts mit Hauptfach-Nebenfach-Kombination

1. Prüfungsanmeldung / Anmeldung der BA-Arbeit
  • Prüfungen können nur während der Anmeldezeit angemeldet werden, die Anmeldezeit und Informationen zur Prüfungsanmeldung werden auf der Homepage des Prüfungsamts sowie per E-Mail an die studentische E-Mail Adresse (s. u.) bekannt gegeben. Nachträgliche Anmeldungen können nicht berücksichtigt werden. Eine Prüfungsteilnahme ohne fristgerechte Online-Anmeldung per LSF ist ausgeschlossen.
  • Hinweis für Studenten, die noch nach einer alten Prüfungsordnung (< 2008) studieren: Bitte melden Sie sich während der Anmeldezeit mit dem entsprechenden Anmeldeformular schriftlich beim Prüfungsamt an.
  • Wenn innerhalb eines Semesters ein zweiter Prüfungstermin/Nachschreibetermin angeboten wird, ist eine Anmeldung übers LSF nicht möglich (da außerhalb der Anmeldezeit). Melden Sie sich in diesem Fall daher bitte mit folgendem Formular beim Prüfungsamt an.
  • Eine automatische Anmeldung von Prüfungen gibt es nicht. D.h. Sie müssen sich auch für die Wiederholungsprüfung im nächsten Semester während des Prüfungsanmeldezeitraums Online per LSF anmelden.
  • Falls Probleme bei der Online-Anmeldung von Prüfungen auftreten sollten, melden Sie diese bitte während der Anmeldezeit bei Ihrem Sachbearbeiter im Prüfungsamt.
2. Rücktritt von Prüfungen
  • Von einer angemeldeten Prüfung können Sie unter Einhaltung der Rücktrittsfrist von 7 Tagen vor der Prüfung online über LSF zurücktreten, sofern das Prüfungsdatum erfasst ist. und es sich um Studienleistungen bzw. Prüfungen der Prüfungskategorien „PL“, „USL“ und „BSL“ handelt. Sollte das Prüfungsdatum nicht erfasst sein, so ist ein online-Rücktritt nicht möglich und Sie müssen per Formular zurücktreten. In diesem Fall muss das Prüfungsdatum vom Prüfer mit seiner Unterschrift bestätigt werden.
  • Bei Nichteinhaltung der Rücktrittsfrist oder bei einer wiederholungspflichtigen Prüfung muss der Rücktritt vom Prüfungsausschuss genehmigt werden. Das ausgefüllte Rücktrittsformular mit Erklärung muss vom Prüfungsausschuss unterschrieben und anschließend beim Prüfungsamt eingereicht werden.
  • Bei LBP‘s (Lehrveranstaltungsbegleitende Prüfungen) muss der Rücktritt vom Prüfungsausschuss genehmigt werden. Dies ist nicht notwendig, wenn dem Prüfungsamt ein Attest mit ausgefülltem Rücktrittsformular vorgelegt wird. Welche Prüfungen LBP‘s sind, können Sie Ihrer Prüfungsordnung entnehmen.
  • Im Krankheitsfall muss ein Attest über den Prüfungstag eingereicht werden. Das Attest muss mit einem ausgefüllten Rücktrittsformular spätestens 3 Tage nach der Prüfung dem Prüfungsamt vorliegen.
  • Das Rücktrittsformular sollte mit Hilfe der Leistungsübersicht im LSF ausgefüllt werden. Die korrekte Prüfungsbezeichnug, die Prüfungsnummer und das Datum der Prüfung können hier entnommen werden. Bitte beachten Sie, dass nur vollständig ausgefüllte Rücktrittsformulare bearbeitet werden können.
  • Wenn die Prüfung erfolgreich abgemeldet wurde, wird dies in der Leistungsübersicht unter Bemerkungen angegeben:
    • „Rück/Frist“    = Rücktritt innerhalb der Frist
    • „Rück/Krank“  = Krankheitsbedingter Rücktritt
    • „Rück/Pagen“ = Rücktritt vom Prüfungsausschuss genehmigt
  • Bei einem krankheitsbedingten oder vom Prüfungsausschuss genehmigten Rücktritt von einer Prüfung muss diese zum nächstfolgenden Termin abgelegt werden. Andernfalls gilt sie als mit „nicht ausreichend“ bewertet (Verwaltungsfünf). Dies gilt nicht für Rücktritte innerhalb der Frist.
3. Wiederholungspflichtige Prüfungen / mündliche Fortsetzungsprüfungen
  • Wenn eine Prüfung nicht bestanden wurde, muss diese zum nächstmöglichen Termin angemeldet und abgelegt werden. In bis zu 2 Modulen je Teilstudiengang ist auch eine zweite Wiederholung möglich.
  • Prüfungen, die Bestandteil der Orientierungsprüfung sind, können nur einmal wiederholt werden.
  • Nach einer nicht bestandenen, letztmöglichen Wiederholung einer schriftlichen Prüfung folgt eine mündliche Fortsetzungsprüfung, die jedoch nur mit bestanden (= 4,0) oder nicht bestanden (= 5,0) bewertet werden kann.
  • Wird eine wiederholungspflichtige Prüfung nicht angemeldet oder nicht angetreten, gilt die verpasste Prüfung als nicht bestandener Versuch. Bei einer versäumten Prüfung entfällt eine eventuelle mündliche Nachprüfung.
4. Bescheinigungen die im Prüfungsamt erhältlich sind
  • Die Abschlussbescheinigung kann von Ihrem Sachbearbeiter im Prüfungsamt erstellt werden, sobald alle Leistungspunkte erreicht wurden. Auch vor der endgültigen Benotung der Bachelorarbeit kann der Betreuer nach Abgabe der Bachelorarbeit bestätigen, dass diese mindestens mit einer 4,0 benotet wird und damit als bestanden gilt (per 4,0-Bescheinigung). Somit können die 180 Leistungspunkte erreicht werden, auch ohne dass die endgültige Note der Bachelorarbeit bekannt ist.
  • Eine Unbedenklichkeitsbescheinigung kann ebenfalls vom Prüfungsamt ausgestellt werden. Diese bestätigt einer anderen Hochschule, dass der Prüfungsanspruch in dem entsprechenden Studiengang noch besteht.
  • Sonstige Bescheinigungen können auf Anfrage erstellt werden.
  • Bezüglich Bescheinigungen für das BAföG-Amt wenden Sie sich bitte an den BAföG-Beauftragten des entsprechenden Institutes (s. Vorlesungsverzeichnis).
5. Orientierungsprüfung
  • Die Orientierungsprüfung muss bis zum Beginn der Vorlesungszeit des 3. Semesters, spätestens bis zum Beginn der Vorlesungszeit des 4. Semesters bestanden sein, ansonsten erlischt der Prüfungsanspruch.
  • Eine Verlängerung der Orientierungsprüfungsfrist kann beim Prüfungsausschuss beantragt werden.
  • Aus welchen Modulen die Orientierungsprüfung besteht und ob Fremdsprachenkenntnisse nachgewiesen werden müssen, entnehmen Sie bitte Ihrer Prüfungsordnung (Besonderer Teil, i.d.R. § 1 oder § 2).
6. Bachelorarbeit
  • Das Thema der Bachelorarbeit kann frühestens ausgegeben werden, wenn im Hauptfach mindestens 80 Leistungspunkte erworben wurden. Es muss spätestens einen Monat nach dem Erwerb von 168 Leistungspunkten (maßgebend hierfür ist das letzte Prüfungsdatum, nicht das Meldedatum der Note vom Prüfer) mit der Bearbeitung der Bachelorarbeit begonnen oder ein Antrag auf Zuteilung eines Themas gestellt werden.
  • Für die Anmeldung der Bachelorarbeit verwenden Sie bitte folgendes Formular.
  • Lassen Sie sich zunächst auf diesem Formular vom Prüfungsamt bestätigen, dass Sie die Voraussetzung für die Zulassung zur Bachelorarbeit erfüllt haben.
  • Füllen Sie dann zusammen mit dem Prüfer das Formular aus und reichen es anschließend beim Prüfungsamt zur Anmeldung ein. Das Feld für das Vergabedatum des Themas ist vom Prüfer auszufüllen. Das Formular muss vom Studenten und dem Prüfer unterzeichnet werden, die Unterschrift des Prüfungsausschusses ist nicht erforderlich.
  • Die Bearbeitungszeit beginnt ab der Themenvergabe und beträgt 12 Wochen.
  • Für Studierende im Hauptfach Kunstgeschichte ist Voraussetzung für die Zulassung zur Bachelorarbeit der Nachweis des Latinums oder vergleichbarer Lateinkenntnisse.
  • Für Studierende im Hauptfach Linguistik ist Folgendes zu beachten: Da die Anmeldung der Bachelorarbeit im Zusammenhang mit der Anmeldung des Abschlussmoduls (Ergänzungsmodul 3) steht, ist eine Anmeldung nur innerhalb der Anmeldephase möglich. Nach der Anmeldung der Bachelorarbeit beim Prüfungsamt muss das Abschlussmodul übers LSF angemeldet werden.
7. Bachelorzeugnis und Bachelorurkunde
  • Jeder Absolvent bekommt nach Abschluss des Bachelorstudiums ein Bachelorzeugnis und eine Bachelorurkunde.
  • Das Bachelorzeugnis wird beim Prüfungsamt beantragt. Bei der Anmeldung der Bachelorarbeit wird der Zeugnisantrag ausgehändigt, bzw. ist beim Sachbearbeiter zu erhalten.
  • Die Bearbeitungszeit des Bachelorzeugnisses dauert ca. 4 bis 6 Wochen nach Eingang der letzten Leistung.
  • Die Bachelorurkunde kann auf Anfrage auch vorher ausgehändigt werden, jedoch ist eine Teilnahme an der Urkundenverleihung bei vorheriger Ausgabe der originalen Urkunde nicht möglich. Solange die originale Urkunde im Prüfungsamt aufbewahrt wird, können auf Anfrage auch beglaubigte Kopien ausgehändigt werden.
8. Bescheinigung der erbrachten Leistungen

Leistungsauszüge, die Sie selbst über das LSF-Portal im PDF-Format erstellen können und nicht vom Prüfungsamt beglaubigt werden müssen:

  1. Im Startmenü des LSF-Portals:
    • Bescheinigung über bestandene Prüfungsleistungen beinhalten ausschließlich die bisher abgeschlossenen Module, keine Teilleistungen nicht abgeschlossener Module. Diese Bescheinigung eignet sich für die Bewerbungen in Betrieben und ist nicht für Hochschulen geeignet. (Screenshot)
  2. Im Menü Leistungsübersicht finden Sie zwei weitere Bescheinigungen:
    • Leistungsauszüge beinhalten alle bisher erbrachten Leistungen, Teilleistungen, Rücktritte und Fehlversuche. Diese Übersicht ist geeignet zur Vorlage beim Prüfungsausschuss oder auch zur Vorlage für die BAföG-Bescheinigung nach § 48. Außerdem eignet sie sich auch für eine Bewerbung eines beabsichtigten Hochschulwechsels während des Studiums. (Screenshot)
    • Bescheinigungen mit bisherigen Leistungspunkten und der bisherigen Durchschnittsnote beinhalten die bestandenen Module, die in die aufgeführten Leistungspunkten einfließen und eignen sich für Bewerbungen jeglicher Art bei nicht abgeschlossenem Studium. (Screenshot)
9. Wechsel der Prüfungsordnung
  • Ein Wechsel der Prüfungsordnung kann nur im aktuell eingeschriebenen Studium vorgenommen werden, sofern eine neue Prüfungsordnung bekanntgegeben wird.
  • Wenn noch nicht abgeschlossene Module sich nach dem Prüfungsordnungswechsel ändern, müssen diese nach der alten Prüfungsordnung abgelegt werden. Die Module werden gemäß der neuen Prüfungsordnung umgeändert sobald alle erforderlichen Leistungen hierfür erbracht wurden.
10. Anerkennung von Prüfungsleistungen
  • Für die Anerkennung von bereits erbrachten Prüfungsleistungen ist der Prüfungsausschuss zuständig.
  • Das Formular „Anerkennung von Prüfungsleistungen“ finden Sie unter dem Reiter Formulare.
  • Ein dem anzuerkennenden Prüfungsfach geeigneter Professor stellt die Gleichwertigkeit der erbrachten Prüfungsleistung fest und schlägt ggf. eine Note vor.
  • Wenn der Prüfungsausschuss dem Vorschlag zustimmt wird die Leistung anerkannt. Im Prüfungsamt wird dann schließlich die anerkannte Leistung verbucht.
  • Es können ggf. auch Fehlversuche anerkannt werden.
  • Die anerkannten Leistungen werden im Bachelorzeugnis gekennzeichnet.
11. Fachübergreifende Schlüsselqualifikationen
  • Für die Anmeldung und Verbuchung von fachübergreifende SQs ist das Zentrum für Weiterbildung zuständig.
  • Sollte eine Leistung nicht durch das Zentrum für Weiterbildung verbucht werden kann die SQ in Ausnahmefällen auch per Leistungsbescheinigung im Prüfungsamt verbucht werden.
12. Studentische E-Mail-Adresse
  • Am Anfang des Studiums erhält jeder Studierende der Universität Stuttgart eine eigene studentische E-Mail-Adresse zugewiesen.
  • Alle wichtigen Informationen werden durch die Universitätsverwaltung über diese E-Mail-Adresse bekanntgegeben. Auch wird innerhalb der Universitätsverwaltung nur diese E-Mail-Adresse weitergegeben.
13. Links