Directly to

 

The education in Materials Science at the University of Stuttgart is organized as consecutive Bachelor/Master studies. (Info-Flyer)

Bachelor

After 3 years (6 semesters) of studies, the Bachelor's curriculum leads to an initial professional qualification as a materials scientist. Due to the broad foundation in natural sciences, the curriculum is very similar to that of a study program in pure chemistry or physics. In addition, elements from the engineering sciences are incorporated. The Bachelor's Degree principally opens up broad career fields, which range from materials selection and production quality to application-oriented materials development/optimization in industry. However, the significance of the initial professional qualification is not to be overestimated. Due to the complexity of the natural and engineering sciences, the Bachelor's Degree is viewed by a significant amount of employers as an intermediate stage of the education. Only the Master's Degree equals the former Diploma standard in engineering or science that has been established over many decades in Germany.
 
The Bachelor curriculum can be divded into two major stages:
 
  • The first stage encompasses essentially the 1st-3rd semesters with the goal of gaining fundamental knowledge in materials science, mathematics, chemistry and physics. Although necessarily reduced in extent, the depth and accuracy of the studied topics correponds to those taught in a dedicated mathematics, physics or chemistry bachelor. For this reason, a Bachelor's Degree in Materials Science, aside from the ideal preparation for the occupation of a materials scientist, represents also an especially flexible basis in order to later branch off into other Masters programs with MINT subjects. (Also a change of the subject after the initial year of studies is often easily possible, as the gained competences in sciences are alternately recognized.)
  • In the second stage (semesters 4-6) the intensified training in the core subjects of materials science follows. These include subjects from the areas: structure and microstructure of materials, mechanical and functional properties, computational materials science as well as high-performance microcopy and structural analysis. Aside from core competences in Materials Science, also key qualifications from interdisciplinary areas and social skills are developed in compulsory optional courses. (for details see "Module structure of Bachelor studies“)

Master

The 4-semester long Masters adds onto the Bachelor. Instruction in the lectures is given mostly in the English language and, due to many foreign students, the program offers an international environment. The Master degree qualifies particularly for self-dependent occupations in industrial research and fundamental research in public institutions. It is generally also the prerequisite for an admission to a PhD program.
 
In the first year of study, the fundamental knowledge gained through the Bachelor is deepend. At the same time, the knowledge and skills in two specialized areas/subjects are built up to follow the current state of research.  In the second year of study, an individual research project in the form of a "Master Thesis" is completed within one of the many materials science research teams. The outstanding infrastructure of the University of Stuttgart makes the broad selection of these fields of specialization possible. The current catalog offers the following for instance:
 
  • Advanced materials characterization
  • Functional Materials
  • Inorganic materials chemistry
  • Materials Theory and Simulation
  • Metals and Structural Materials
  • Nanomaterials and Surfaces
  • Plastics engineering
  • Soft Matter and Bio-Materials
Further compulsory optionals allow complementing the curriculum by subjects from other other fields, even social skills or language courses  (for details see "Module structure of Master studies").

Direkt zu

 

Die Ausbildung zum Materialwissenschaftler geschieht an der Universität Stuttgart in einem konsekutiven Bachelor/Master-Studium (Info-Flyer)

Bachelor

Der Bachelor führt nach 3 Jahren (6 Semestern) zu einem ersten berufsqualifizierenden Abschluss als Materialwissenschaftler/in. Aufgrund der breiten naturwissenschaftlichen Grundlage ist er einem Studium der Chemie bzw. Physik sehr ähnlich. Zusätzlich fließen Elemente aus den Ingenieurwissenschaften in die Ausbildung ein. Der Bachelorabschlus eröffnet den Absolventen im Prinzip ein breites berufliches Tätigkeitsfeld, welches von der Materialbeschaffung und -auswahl über Qualitätssicherung bis hin zur anwendungsorientierten Materialentwicklung /-optimierung in der Industrie reicht. Die Bedeutung der ersten beruflichen Qualifikation darf jedoch nicht überschätzt werden. Aufgrund der Komplexität der Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften wird der Bachelorgrad von einem maßgeblichen Teil der Arbeitgeber als eine Zwischenstufe der Ausbildung angesehen. Erst der Masterabschluss entspricht dem Qualifikationsniveau des in Deutschland über viele Jahrzehnte etablierten Diplomingenieurs oder Diplom-Wissenschaftlers.
 
Das Bachelorstudium kann in 2 Studienabschnitte unterteilt werden:
 
  • Der erste Abschnitt umfasst wesentlich die Fachsemester 1-3 und dient dem Erwerb von Grundlagenwissen in den Fachdisziplinen Materialwissenschaft, Mathematik, Chemie u. Physik. Obwohl im Umfang notwendig geringer, entspricht das Niveau der Veranstaltungen in Mathematik, Physik und Chemie dem der jeweiligen Fachdisziplin. Ein Bachelorstudium in Materialwissenschaft ist deshalb neben der idealen Vorbereitung auf die Tätigkeit eines Materialwissenschaftlers, auch eine besonders flexible Basis um in einen  Master mit Schwerpunkt in einem der anderen MINT-Fächern abzuzweigen. (Auch ein Wechsel nach dem ersten Studienjahr ist vielfach ohne Zeitverlust möglich, da die erworbenen Kenntnisse wechselweise anerkannt werden.)
  • Im zweiten Abschnitt (Semester 4-6) erfolgt verstärkt die Ausbildung in den Kernfächern der Materialwissenschaft. Diese enthalten Themengebiete aus den Bereichen: Struktur und Mikrostruktur der Materialien, mechanische und funktionelle Eigenschaften, Computergestützte Materialwissenschaft sowie Hochleistungsmikrokopie und Strukturanalyse. Neben den materialwissenschaftlichen Kernkompetenzen werden Schlüsselqualifikationen aus fachaffinen und fachübergreifenden Bereichen erarbeitet. (siehe auch “Modularer Aufbau Bachelor“)

Master

Der 4-semestrige Master baut auf dem Bachelor auf. Er wird weitgehend in englischer Sprache unterrichtet und bietet aufgrund zahlreicher Studierender aus dem Ausland eine internationales Umfeld. Der Abschluss qualifiziert in besonderer Weise zu eigenverantwortlicher Tätigkeit in der industriellen Forschung und der Grundlagenforschung an öffentlichen Einrichtungen. Er ist in der Regel auch Voraussetzung für den Zugang zu einer Promotion.
Im ersten Studienjahr werden die Grundlagen-Kenntnisse aus dem Bachelor vertieft. Gleichzeitig werden in zwei Spezialisierungsfächern Kenntnisse und Fertigkeiten aufgebaut, die an den aktuellen Stand der Forschung heranführen. Zu einem dieser Spezialisierungsfächer wird dann im zweiten Studienjahr ein eigenes Forschungsprojekt ("Masterarbeit") in einer der zahlreichen materialwissenschaftlichen Arbeitsgruppen durchgeführt. Die herausragende Infrastruktur der Universität Stuttgart ermöglich eine breite Wahl dieser Spezialisierungsfächer. Der aktuelle Katalog bietet etwa an:
 
  • Advanced materials characterization
  • Functional Materials
  • Inorganic materials chemistry
  • Materials Theory and Simulation
  • Metals and Structural Materials
  • Nanomaterials and Surfaces
  • Plastics engineering
  • Soft Matter and Bio-Materials
Ein weiterer Wahlplichtbereich ermöglicht den Studierenden das Studium durch Themen aus anderen Fachgebieten zu ergänzen. (siehe auch "Modularer Aufbau Master")